Introducing a new category for this “blog” thing: Nerdery

I’ve generally hesitated to write up technical tips or how-to entries, largely as the result of being restricted from writing about certain technologies for NDA reasons for a number of years. That said, I’ve still been asked countless times to help friends or family with technical issues, and as a result, I’ve written plenty of how-to documents or handed out quick lessons in technical subjects for the benefit of people who know me, and largely because while it’s simple enough to fix one person’s particular problem, it’s even more rewarding to teach them how to solve those¬†problems for themselves.

Given my work experience as a UNIX system administrator for almost 20 years, I’ve acquired a certain body of technical knowledge that I am no longer restricted from writing about. Further, my extensive experience with Mac OS X Server and Mac OS X, running the entire duration of the existence of those operating systems, puts me in a rare category of UNIX admins. Because of this experience, I’m going to start writing more technical things here, on top of the usual expository dreck on subjects I’ve found interesting for years.

Some of these tech-oriented pieces will be geared towards newbies or would-be “power users”, some will end up being more complex, and better-suited for experienced systems administrators. I’m not going to try to define (and subsequently restrict) the content at this point; I’m just going to start knocking entries out, and we’ll see where it goes. Fortunately for all of us, you, the reader, still retain the ability to skip reading articles you don’t want or need to read. I encourage you to exercise that discretion accordingly, and if you happen to find some of this useful, well, huzzah! If nothing else, it will serve as a repository of material from which I can send links to the same said friends and families, so that I don’t have to re-write the same how-to articles tailored to each individual problem.

And I promise that this article will be the least useful of all of them, since it is of an administrative (in the non-system administration sense) nature, and therefore provides no actual technical knowledge, whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

